Our Leadership


As is customary in Waldorf schools, the Emerson Waldorf School is governed by a three-fold structure comprised of the Board of Directors, which is responsible for legal and financial matters, the College of Teachers, which is responsible for pedagogical matters, and the Administration, which is responsible for the day-to-day running of the school.



The College of Teachers is the guardian of the curriculum, the identity and the mission of the school. This is the body which makes final decisions about which teachers join or leave the school and which programs are offered (within budgetary limits). The College meets weekly, on Thursday evenings, and works collaboratively and through consensus. Its primary mission is to nurture and support the ideals of Waldorf Education within the school. It is comprised of experienced teachers, who have been at Emerson for at least several years, and others who may be invited to join. The College has a Chairperson, and parents are welcome to communicate directly with her about any pedagogical concerns–although it is best to speak first with your child’s class teacher when possible.

Members of the College of Teachers for the 2017-18 year are:

  • Robin Olson, College Chair
  • Ingeborg Boesch, Pedagogical Chair
  • Jason Child
  • Viorica Comaniciu
  • Patricia Cornell
  • Kim D'Angelo
  • Laura Guinan
  • Peter Moyers
  • Therisa Pienaar
  • Rob Rich
  • Kris Ritz
  • Kathleen Stone-Michael
  • Malina Stoychev
  • Benjamin Trueblood
  • Christina Wise



The Board of Directors is comprised of parents, alumni, faculty, and friends of the school who have been invited to join as members, plus one Parent Representative elected by the Parents’ Organization, and the school’s Administrator, who is an ex-officio member. The Board supports the work of the administration and the College of Teachers by discussing and making recommendations on budgets and finance, legal matters, fundraising and development, and long-range planning. Regular members serve for a term of three years, while the PO representative serves for one year. The Board has several standing committees, including a Finance Committee and a Long-Range Planning Committee, and may establish temporary committees and Task Forces to accomplish special tasks. Members of the community are welcome to refer matters of concern to the Board through written communication with the chairperson or by attendance at the open session of the Board held at the beginning of its regular meetings. Board minutes are kept in a file in the Main Office and are available to the community.

Members of the Board for 2017-18 are:

  • Mark Hulbert, President
  • Georg Buehler, Treasurer
  • Peter McKinnis, Secretary
  • Ingeborg Boesch
  • Kristin Burrows
  • Mark Eichinger-Weise
  • Laura Guinan
  • Bob Levin
  • Robin Olson
  • Maria Oltmann-Roach
  • Metta Prieto
  • Catherine Reyes
  • Charles Viles
  • Michael Awai



Christina Wise • Director of Administration • ext. 111 • cwise@emersonwaldorf.org

Christina Wise has been a passionate advocate of Waldorf education since first discovering it over 10 years ago. Before finding Waldorf education, she worked as a Management Consultant for Deloitte Consulting, but Christina has spent the past decade serving the Suncoast Waldorf School in Palm Harbor, FL in a variety of roles: dedicated parent, Board President, Assistant Kindergarten Teacher, Class Teacher Substitute, Communications Coordinator, Marketing Chair, Finance Director, and most recently Administrative Director.  She is a graduate of the University of Florida and has an International MBA from the University of South Carolina and Wirtshaftsuniversität Wien.  She loves working with parents and teachers and applying her background and skills to advance the mission of Waldorf education to reach as many children and young people as possible.